Computer Go Tournaments on KGS

From 2010 to 2017, the Computer Go tournaments played on KGS assigned points towards the "Annual KGS Computer Go Championship", and at the end of each year, the program with the most points was declared champion of the year.

The 2017 winner was Zen.

The 2016 winner was Zen.

The 2015 winner was Zen.

The 2014 winner was Zen.

The 2013 winner was Zen.

The 2012 winner was Zen.

The 2011 winner was Zen.

2010 was an experimental half-year, in which scoring only started in July. It used an unnecessarily complicated scoring system, as described in 2010 Annual Championship. It was won by Many Faces of Go.

The Scoring System

The scoring system is as follows. In each KGS bot tournament of the year, eight points are awarded for first place, five points are awarded for second place, three points are awarded for third place, two points are awarded for fourth place, and one point is awarded for fifth place. These points are accumulated over the calendar year, and the player with the most points at the end of the year is the winner for that year.

This is modified whenever, in a tournament, there is a group of players all with the same number of wins. In such a case, the points awarded to players in the group are shared among them as equally as possible, with remainder points going to the players with the better SOS then SODOS.


A "player" may use different KGS accounts for different tournaments, so long as the same engine is used. For example ManyFaces1 and ManyFaces2 are counted as a single player, as are CzechBot and MoGo.